Bet on The TJ Smith Stakes

Bet on The TJ Smith Stakes

The T.J. Smith Stakes is held anually each fall at Royal Randwick as part of the ATC Championships Series. The race has gradually risen in prominence and currently offers a purse of $2.5 million.  Inaugurated in 1997 as the Endeavor Stakes, the T.J. Smith Stakes quickly assumed its current name in 1999 in honor of the recently deceased Australian trainer Thomas John Smith, who won 33 racing titles in Sydney. The race achieved its Group 1 status in 2005.  

Held on the turf at the sprint distance of 1200 meters, the event has attracted many top class runners in recent years, including Black Cavier who won the event in 2011 and 2013 and retired unbeaten in 25 career starts. Other notable winners of the T.J. Smith include Takeover Target (2009), Apache Cat (2008), and Mahogany (1997). 

Black Cavier was the Australian Racehorse of the Year three consecutive years from 2011-2013. One of the greatest mares to ever run, Black Cavier was inducted to the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2013. Takeover Target was also elected to the Australian Racing Hall of Fame a year earlier. 

Bet the TJ Smith Stakes Online!

Bet the TJ Smith Stakes and other classic Australian horse races through one of these recommended racebooks.


RankBonusReviewLink to site

* REMINDER! - you must be of legal age in your state or province to legally wager on thoroughbred or harness horse racing. Please bet responsibly!

2017 TJ Smith Stakes Contenders

The 2016 T.J. Smith was marked by another sparkling performance from Chautauqua who become the first back-to-back winner of the race and just the second two-time winner joining the likes of Black Cavier. Unleashing his trademark late run, Chautaugua trailed by ten lengths entering the home stretch, but produced a jaw-dropping last-to-first kick to win by a length and a quarter. The victory secured the talented grey's place as the most elite sprinter in Australia. 

Check back closer to race day for the 2017 TJ Smith Stakes contenders!