Bet on The Sydney Cup

Bet on The Sydney Cup

Run annually at the 3200-meter or 2-mile distance, the Group 1 Sydney Cup is run each autumn at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney Australia during the ATC Championships. Currently offered for a purse of $2 million, the Sydney Cup is the longest race of the ATC Championship events and regularly draws top-class fields. 

Though never as popular as the Melbourne Cup at Flemington Racecourse, the Sydney Cup has been historically viewed as a fine autumn complement to the more notable race. Held consecutively since 1862, the Sydney Cup has several notable past winners including Makybe Diva (2004), Tie the Knot (1998 & 1999), Apollo Eleven (1973), Sailor's Guide (1956), - and going further back into the annals of history - Wakeful (1902), Carbine (1889 & 1890), and The Barb (1868 & 1869).

Only Tie the Knot, Carbine and The Barb have won consecutive editions of the Sydney Cup. Makybe Diva, however eclipsed the feat by becoming the only horse to win the Melbourne Cup three times, retiring with earnings over $14 million as the highest-earning Australian thoroughbred of all time. 

Bet the Sydney Cup Online!

Bet the Sydney Cup and other classic Australian horse races with one of these recommended racebooks!


RankBonusReviewLink to site

* REMINDER! - you must be of legal age in your state or province to legally wager on thoroughbred or harness horse racing. Please bet responsibly!

2017 Sydney Cup Contenders

The 2016 Sydney Cup provided few anxious moments for those who backed Gallante. The six year-old Irish-bred gelding controlled the two-mile event from start to finish, and proved the better of main rival Libran, who finished second. In his previous start, Gallante finished third to Libran, but proved to handle the softer going better than his foe on the big day. the recently gelded son of Montjeu paid $10 while earning his fourth victory in 14 starts.  

Check back closer to race day for the 2017 Sydney Cup contenders!